University of Northern Iowa Fall Faculty Meeting

Monday October 7, 2024 Lang Auditorium 3:30-5:00 PM

Call to order at 3:30pm

Welcome Faculty Chair Melissa Dobosh

Comments President Mark Nook

Provost Jose Herrera

University Faculty Senate Chair Kenneth Elgersma United Faculty President Christopher Martin

Recognition of New FacultyJonathan Chenoweth, Director of the Center for Excellence in

Teaching and Learning

New faculty listed on page 2

Recognition of Award Recipients Amy Nielsen, Associate Provost for Faculty

Stephanie Huffman, Dean of the College of Graduate, Research

& Online Education

Award recipients listed on page 2

New Business/Announcements

Adjournment by 5:00pm

New Faculty

Mahdi Abouei, Management
Kimia Ansari, Management
Sara Blessing, Music
Andres Cuadros, Economics
Sharon Dentlinger, Ed. Psychology, Foundations & Leadership Studies
James Dugdale, Finance
Sheree Harper, Biology
Allison Heit, Nursing & Public Health
Gina Holman, Nursing & Public Health
Daniel Lee, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Khamsai Lo, Family, Aging & Counseling
Dayna Miller, Biology
Dawn Mollenkopf, Curriculum & Instruction

Natalie Nedza, Nursing & Public Health Emily Obermeier, Management Allison Pattee, Curriculum & Instruction Nicholas Sars, Philosophy & World Religion Katherine Simpson, Teaching Sidney Sorfonden, Management Tara Tedrow, Special Education

Tara Tedrow, Special Education

Staci Toma, Music

Ross Westemeyer, Communication Sciences & Disorders

Will Yager, Music

Award Recipients

Beverly Funk Barnes Educator Excellence Award	Megan Balong, Teaching
Class of 1943 Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching	Ira Simet, Chemistry & Biochemistry Douglas Shaw, Mathematics
Regents Award for Faculty Excellence	Ben Schafer, Computer Science Kenneth Elgersma, Biology
Ross A. Nielsen Professional Service Award	Bryce Kanago, Economics Heather Peyton, Music
UNI Outstanding Teaching Award	Sunah Chung, Curriculum & Instruction Michael Conrad, Music Erik Rohde, Music Stacy Wilson, Family, Aging & Counseling Elena Dobrila, Languages & Literatures
Distinguished Scholar Award	Catherine DeSoto, Psychology
James F. Lubker Faculty Research Award	Timothy E. Kidd, Physics
Outstanding Graduate Faculty Teaching Award	Wendy M. Hoofnagle, Languages & Literatures