## **University of Northern Iowa Fall Faculty Meeting**

Monday October 3, 2022

Please note that a complete audio recording of this senate meeting is available at <u>UNI Scholarworks</u>. The timestamps noted throughout these minutes refer to that recording.

Called to order at 3:30 PM

Welcome Faculty Chair James Mattingly (00:00)

**Comments** President Mark Nook (06:15)

Provost José Herrera (17:30)

University Faculty Senate Chair Francis Degnin (23:30)

United Faculty President Becky Hawbaker (27:00)

**Recognition of new faculty**Jonathan Chenoweth, Director of the Center for

Excellence in Teaching and Learning (37:00)

New faculty listed on pg 2

**Recognition of award recipients**John Vallentine, Associate Provost for Faculty (45:00)

Wendy Hoofnagle, for the Graduate College (56:00)

Award recipients listed on pg 2

Current business Proposed revisions to the Faculty Constitution (59:00)

Item #1: Deadline for spring roster

Item #2: Role of Secretary Item #3: WITHDRAWN

Voting faculty will complete an electronic ballot from Wednesday, October 5 through Tuesday, October 11, as

described in the meeting announcement.

New business/Announcements Open call (1:03:30)

Adjournment at 4:36 PM Motion by John Burnight; second by Melissa Dobosh

(1:05:39)

## **New Faculty**

Hua-Hsin Tsai	Finance
Tori Austin	Management
Roark Horn	Ed Psych, Foundations & Leadership Studies
Allison Pattee	Curriculum & Instruction
Kendra Kahl	Theater
Randy Sharp	Applied Engineering & Technical Management
Jaimie O'Gara	Social Work
Angelica Velazquillo	Social Work
Kristine Donnelly	Special Education

## **Faculty Awards**

Beverly Funk Barnes Educator Excellence Award	Catherine Miller, Mathematics Joshua Sebree, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Class of 1943 Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching	Mason Kuhn, Curriculum & Instruction Brett Olsen, Finance
MWOne UNIque Academic Advising Award	Wendy Miller, Art
Regents Award for Faculty Excellence	Christopher Larimer, Political Science James Mattingly, Management Julianne Gassman, Community Engagement
Ross A. Nielsen Professional Service Award	Becky Hawbaker, Teaching Ben Schafer, Computer Science
UNI Outstanding Teaching Award	Michael Graziano, Philosophy & World Religions Ashleigh Kysar-Moon, Sociology, Anthropology, & Criminology Sam Matthews, Management Hannah Porter Occeña, School of Music David Schmid, Ed. Psych, Foundations & Leadership Studies
Distinguished Scholar Award	Christian Ogbondah, Communication & Media
James F. Lubker Faculty Research Award	Aleksandar Poleksic, Computer Science
Outstanding Graduate Faculty Teaching Award	Sheila Benson, Languages & Literatures