University Faculty Senate Minutes November 9, 2020 Online Zoom meeting

Please note that a complete audio recording of this senate meeting is available at <u>UNI Scholarworks</u>. The time stamps noted throughout these minutes refer to that recording.

Senators in attendance: John Burnight (Chair), Danielle Cowley (Vice-Chair), James Mattingly (Past-Chair), Amy Petersen (Faculty Chair), Imam Alam, Megan Balong, Francis Degnin, Melissa Dobosh, Kenneth Elgersma, Gretchen Gould, Kenneth Hall, Mark Hecimovich, Thomas Hesse, Rob Hitlan, Charles Holcombe, Syed Kirmani, William Koch, Matthew Makarios, Nicole Skaar, Andrew Stollenwerk, John Wiles (Fifty percent quorum met, with 18 of 20 voting senators present; the Faculty Chair is non-voting, as provided in the Faculty Constitution, and the Senate Chair votes only in case of a tie).

Call to Order at 3:30 PM [time stamp 0:00:00]

Following a precedent set in earlier meetings to maintain order in the Zoom virtual environment, all microphones were closed at the beginning of the meeting and participants opened them to speak only if recognized by the Chair. Senators used yes and no buttons to vote accordingly, and selected neither button to abstain from voting.

Call for Press Identification

None present

Introduction of Guests

Regular Guests: Mark Nook, Jim Wohlpart, John Vallentine, Patrick Pease, Becky Hawbaker, Elle Boeding (NISG President).

Other guests: Ana Kogl, Brenda Bass, Jennifer McNabb, Allyson Rafanello, Paula Knudson, Janel Newman, Shelley O'Connell.

Courtesy Announcements

Comments from President Nook [time stamp 0:00:49]

The President explained some changes on our COVID dashboard, especially pertaining to comparisons with county and state statistics, and questions ensued. President Nook thanked the faculty who created and participated in various initiatives related to civic engagement throughout the period preceding the recent recent general election.

Comments from Provost Wohlpart No comments today.

Comments from Faculty Chair Petersen [time stamp 0:12:40]

Chair Petersen highlighted the upturn in COVID statistics and discussed the operation of public health planning on campus. She also reminded us to be vigilant regarding COVID-related protections, and to continue to provide support and grace to one another through this difficult time.

Comments from United Faculty President Hawbaker [time stamp 0:18:12]

President Hawbaker suggested that we act as if COVID was widespread on our campus and in our community, reinforcing the Provost's recent message that faculty must be empowered to adapt their own delivery modes as appropriate to their own circumstances. She thanked those who were directly involved in organizing and communication during the recent campaign for United Faculty recertification.

Comments from NISG President Boeding [time stamp 0:21:23]

Like Chair Petersen, NISG President Boeding encouraged us to keep doing our best to provide support to students who are struggling with staying motivated under unusual conditions due to the pandemic.

Comments from Senate Chair Burnight *No comments today.*

Minutes for Approval: October 26, 2020

MOTION: Elgersma/Skaar (16-0-2) Minutes were approved without amendment.

Calendar Items to be Docketed: [time stamp 0:27:20]

 1532 Emeritus request for David May (Geography) (request to docket at head of order) MOTION: Makarios/Kirmani (17-0-1) Docketed at the top of today's agenda
1533 Consultation: Faculty Handbook Committee

MOTION: Mattingly/Kirmani (17-0-1) Docketed in regular order

1534 Consultation: Fall 2021 Academic Calendar

MOTION: Hall/Makarios (16-0-2) Docketed in regular order

Bundled for a single vote 1535-38:

MOTION: Kirmani/Kock (17-0-1) Docketed in regular order

1535 Proposed change to Policy 3.06 regarding religious observance

1536 Proposed change to Policy 4.16 Extra Income Compensation

1537 Proposed change to Policy 0.0

1538 Potential changes to Senate representation model

Docket Items

1409 <u>Emeritus request for David May (Geography)</u> [time stamp 0:32:14] MOTION: Makarios/Skaar (16-0-2) *Emeritus request approved. John Burnight spoke on his behalf.*

1403 Emeritus request for Donna (Dolly) Maier (History) [time stamp 0:33:22] MOTION: Holcombe/Mattingly (17-0-1) Emeritus request approved. Charles Holcombe and Jennifer McNabb spoke on her behalf.

1404 GERC update [time stamp 0:35:55]

Brenda Bass and Ana Kogl, co-chairs of the General Education Revision Committee, presented the committee's initial proposal regarding requirements for course submissions to the General Education program. After an initial presentation, they answered several questions from senators.

1405 <u>CHAS-HFA curriculum proposals</u> [time stamp 1:09:06]

MOTION: Degnin/Elgersma (16-0-2) The curriculum package was approved.

1406 CHAS-Sciences curriculum proposals [time stamp 1:10:40]

MOTION: Hecimovich/Elgersma (16-0-2) The curriculum package was approved.

1407 Additional curriculum proposals [time stamp 1:11:24]

MOTION: Makarios/Koch (16-0-2) The curriculum package was approved.

1408 <u>Consultation: Student Affairs regarding COVID-related student absences</u> [time stamp 1:13:48] Student Affairs representatives Paula Knudson, Allyson Rafanello, Janel Newman, and Shelley O'Connell discussed the matter, guided by Faculty Chair Amy Petersen.

Adjournment at 5:14:51 PM

MOTION: Skaar/Elgersma

Submitted by James Mattingly, Immediate Past-Chair of the University Faculty Senate