University Faculty Senate MInutes

October 12, 2020
Online Zoom meeting

Please note that a complete audio recording of this senate meeting is available at <u>UNI Scholarworks</u>. The time stamps noted throughout these minutes refer to that recording.

Senators in attendance: John Burnight (Chair), Danielle Cowley (Vice-Chair), James Mattingly (Past-Chair), Amy Petersen (Faculty Chair), Imam Alam, Megan Balong, Francis Degnin, Melissa Dobosh, Kenneth Elgersma, Gretchen Gould, Kenneth Hall, Mark Hecimovich, Thomas Hesse, Charles Holcombe, William Koch, Matthew Makarios, Nicole Skaar, Andrew Stollenwerk, John Wiles (Fifty percent quorum met, with 18 of 20 voting senators present; the Faculty Chair is non-voting, as provided in the Faculty Constitution, and the Senate Chair votes only in case of a tie).

Call to Order at 3:30 PM [time stamp 0:00:00]

Following a precedent set in earlier meetings to maintain order in the Zoom virtual environment, all microphones were closed at the beginning of the meeting and participants opened them to speak only if recognized by the Chair. Senators used yes and no buttons to vote accordingly, and to press neither yes nor no, if they wish to abstain from voting.

Call for Press Identification

None present

Introduction of Guests

Regular Guests: Mark Nook, Jim Wohlpart, John Vallentine, Patrick Pease, Elle Boeding (NISG President).

Other guests: Scott Peters and Kristin Moser (HLC consultation); Fernando Herrara-Calderon and Doug Mupasiri (Senate DEI Committee)

Courtesy Announcements

Comments from President Nook [timestamp 1:10] The Panther Marching Band will commemorate student Isaac Roerig's life at Lawther Field 7:00 PM tonight. The President noted significant representation of UNI at the Cedar Valley Economic Inclusion Summit last week, and also that our campus diversity common read has become a community event. There were no questions for President Nook.

Comments from Provost Wohlpart [timestamp 3:44] The Provost reported that he is working with faculty leaders involved in the new Senate DEI Committee regarding the new Executive Order on diversity training. It doesn't appear to limit efforts that are currently underway on our campus, but will be further investigated.

Comments from Faculty Chair Petersen [timestamp 5:14] Reminded us of the upcoming Fall Faculty Meeting. Please register to attend. A celebration video of new faculty and faculty awards will begin at 3:15; the meeting begins at 3:30.

Comments from United Faculty President Hawbaker [timestamp 6:58] President Hawbaker could not attend today's meeting, but asked Faculty Chair Petersen to make an announcement reminding faculty to vote in the United Faculty recertification election, which begins tomorrow. You will receive regular reminders to vote; please remember that not voting is the same as voting "no", because to be recertified, UF must receive a majority of "yes" votes from ALL faculty, not just from those voting.

Comments from NISG President Elle Boeding [timestamp 8:28] Announced many of the mental health services and activities, including Mental Health Ally training, available at the counseling center.

Comments from Senate Chair Burnight [timestamp 12:45] No comments today.

Minutes for Approval September 28, 2020 [timestamp 13:00]

MOTION: Stollenwerk/Cowley (15-0-3) Minutes approved without amendment.

Calendar Items to be Docketed for the October 26 Meeting:

1523 Consultation: UNI Athletics update (David Harris and Elaine Eshbaugh) [timestamp 14:23]

MOTION: Hall/Koch (17-0-1) Docketed in regular order

1524 CSBS curriculum proposals [timestamp 15:30]

MOTION: Makarios/Degnin (16-0-2) Docketed in regular order

1525 COE curriculum proposals [timestamp 16:30]

MOTION: Cowley/Elgersma (17-0-1) Docketed in regular order

Docket Items

1397 Consultation: HLC visit and Assurance Argument (Scott Peters and Kristin Moser) [timestamp 17:30]

Scott Peters and Kristin Moser provided progress updates toward the HLC visit scheduled for March 29-30, 2021. Provost Wohlpart reminded us that syllabi must be on file in department offices before the visit. He also reminded us that we must have a new GenEd program approved by the end of this year, to go through next year's curriculum cycle (for implementation Fall 2022), to overcome deficiencies noted in the last HLC visit.

1398 Proposed charge and membership for the new Senate DEI Committee [timestamp 37:58]

MOTION: Mattingly/Degnin (16-0-2) Danielle Cowley, Fernando Herrara-Calderon, and Doug Mupasiri, founding members of the proposed committee, answered questions regarding the makeup and charge of the committee. Senator Hesse expressed concerns about whether there is adequate ideological diversity among the committee's proposed members, and discussion followed. The senate approved the founding of the proposed ad hoc DEI Committee.

1399 UCC and GCCC Curriculum Proposals: CBA and CHAS-Technology [timestamp 52:57]

MOTION: Degnin/Holcombe (16-0-2) Associate Provost Pease described that the curriculum proposals were primarily routine CBA changes and one program termination for CHAS-technology. The senate approved the proposed curriculum changes.

1394 Constitutional changes related to term/temp faculty voting eligibility [timestamp 56:00]

MOTION: Hesse/Mattingly (17-0-1) The senate approved a motion to favor option 1, but to support option 2 if the faculty could not support option 1. Option 1 moves language for senate representation from the Faculty Constitution to the Senate Bylaws, and removes provision of senate seats specifically for contingent faculty -- because they are now voting faculty, already eligible to hold senate seats. Option 2 keeps the language for senate representation in the Faculty Constitution, but still removes provision of senate seats specifically for contingent faculty. Chair Peterson reminded us that constitutional changes require a quorum of 15% of the Faculty present in the meeting, and must pass with two-thirds of those present.

Other New Business

No new business

Adjournment at 4:36 PM [timestamp 1:06:28]

MOTION: Skaar/Elgersma

Submitted by James Mattingly, Immediate Past-Chair of the University Faculty Senate