University Faculty Senate Minutes

AUGUST 26, 2024, Online Zoom meeting

Please note that a complete audio recording of this senate meeting is available at <u>UNI</u> Scholarworks. The time stamps noted throughout these minutes refer to that recording.

These are open meetings to all faculty. If you wish to attend, email a member of senate leadership for a Zoom link.

Senators in attendance:

Kenneth Elgersma (Chair), Alexa Clements (Vice-Chair), Melissa Dobosh (Faculty Chair, Past Senate Chair), Randall Harlow (Parliamentarian), Megan Balong, Erika Bass, Andy Berns, Cathi Bowler, Karen Breitbach, Ronnie Chen, Rebecca Dickinson, Tim Dooley, Evette Edmister, Scott Giese, Melanie Hill, Rob Hitlan, Charles Holcombe, Julie Kang, Alexandra (Ana) Kogle, Reza Lahroodi, Matthew Makarios, Dayna Miller, Gretchen Gould, John Preston, Shelley Price-Williams, Mohammed Rawwas, Ali Tabei

(Fifty percent quorum met, with 25/31 voting senators present; the Faculty Chair is non-voting, as provided in the Faculty Constitution, and the Senate Chair votes only in case of a tie.)

Call to Order at 3:30 PM [timestamp 00:00:00]

Call for Press Identification: None present

Introduction of Guests

Regular Guests: Mark Nook, José Herrera, Chris Martin, Lizbeth Montalvo (NISG President).

Other Guests: none

Courtesy Announcements

Comments from President Nook [timestamp 00:01:08]

President Nook welcomed everyone to the new academic year and congratulated Lizbeth Montalvo for her election as NISG President. He reviewed enrollment numbers and directed interested parties to the University Address, which is available online.

Comments from Provost Herrera [timestamp 00:04:13]

Provost Herrera noted that John Vallentine's last day is approaching and thanked him for his service and announced that Amy Nielsen will be taking on the role of Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs. He highlighted enrollment growth, particularly in graduate programs. Commented on changes in Applied Engineering and Technical Management and invited questions and comments regarding these changes to be sent to the provost as they arise.

Comments from Faculty Chair Dobosh [timestamp 00:08:17]

Faculty Chair Dobosh made three announcements. First, she highlighted that many student services are in new locations and provided a website to direct students to various services. Website was posted in the chat: https://studentlife.uni.edu/new-locations-campus. Second, she commented on her role in faculty leadership and intention to maintain shared governance. Third, the Fall

Faculty Meeting will be on Monday, October 7 at 3:30 in Lang Auditorium.

Comments from United Faculty President Martin [timestamp 00:12:16]

United Faculty President Martin highlighted that the recertification vote for the union will take place from October 8 to October 22. Information regarding how to vote will be forthcoming for members of the faculty bargaining unit. Second, UF will be part of the contract negotiation for the faculty. The current contract expires on June 30, 2025.

[timestamp 00:14:34] President Nook had a followup question for Faculty Chair Dobosh about ADA messages for student accommodations. Has anyone posted an email about issues with Student Accommodations Services (SAS)? Faculty Chair Dobosh clarified that a glitch in notifications from SAS was fixed, and an email addressing this will be sent to all faculty.

Comments from NISG President Montalvo [timestamp 00:15:54]

President Montalvo identified that NISG intends to focus several initiatives on non-traditional, out of state, international, graduate students. She stated that to address changes in student resources and their locations, NISG will develop a "What's That Resource?" program to help students find resources across campus.

Comments from Faculty Senate Chair Elgersma [timestamp 00:18:38]:

Senate Chair Elgersma welcomed and thanked new senators for their service. He highlighted participation in shared governance, and encouraged senators to pass information in their own departments to cultivate engagement. He reviewed language in the constitution regarding shared governance and the role of the senate.

Minutes for Approval [timestamp 00:23:20]

Approval of the April 22, 2024 minutes occurred last spring via email. 23 yay/ 0 nay/ 0 abstention.

Minutes were approved without amendment.

Items for Senate to Receive:

1608 End of Year Report: Nominating Committee [timestamp 00:23:38] MOTION: Bass/ Holcombe (21 yay, 0 nay 0 abstentions).

Motion to receive the report from the Nominating Committee passed

Senator Breitbach recognized work by Faculty Chair Dobosh to query and organize information used by the committee. Faculty Chair Dobosh updated that there is now a standing spreadsheet of committee assignments that is maintained throughout the year. She identified two spots on committees that are open: 1. UNIFI Committee- person to represent the senate. 2. The Committee on Readmission and Retention needs a representative from COE.

1609 End of Year Report: Policy Committee [timestamp 00:28:57]

MOTION: Berns/ Makarios (23 yay, 0 nay, 0 abstentions)

Motion to receive the report from the Policy Committee passed

Policy Committee Chair Harlow stated that the report summary of four policies worked on during the year and includes minutes of all committee meetings.

Items Requiring Senate Votes:

1610 Revision of the 2024-2025 Faculty Senate Handbook [time stamp 00:31:35]

MOTION: Kogl / Price-Williams (23 yay, 0 nay, 0 abstentions)

Motion to revise the meeting dates passed.

Senate Chair Elgersma explained that this revision of the Faculty Senate Handbook is to update the Faculty Senate meeting dates for this year.

Emeritus Requests:

1611 Emeritus Request: Tim Kidd [time stamp 00:33:25] MOTION: Harlow/ Makarios (24 yay, 0 nay, 0 abstentions)

Senate Chair Elgersma highlighted Dr. Kidd's service and leadership across the university, his success in acquiring grants and supporting student research and learning.

Senator Tabei noted Dr. Kidd's excellence in obtaining grants and as a collaborator.

President Nook commented on Dr. Kidd's service on numerous committees. He reflected on the tour of the physics department and getting students actively involved in undergraduate research. Motion to approve emeritus request passed.

1612 <u>Emeritus Request: Christina Curran</u> [timestamp 00:38:36] MOTION: Bass/ Balong (22 yay, 0 nay, 0 abstentions)

Senate Chair Elgersma read highlights from the letters of support and noted Dr. Curran's work towards making courses accessible to students through technology and course design. During her time at UNI, she taught 19 different courses. Motion to approve emeritus request passed.

1613 <u>Emeritus Request: Molly Cormaney</u> [timestamp 00:41:23] MOTION: Makarios/ Berns (22 yay, 0 nay, 1 abstentions)

Senate Chair Elgersma read highlights from the letters of support and commented that Dr. Cormaney offered many night classes that supported the access mission of the university. Her introduction to literature class had the engaging subtitle: "Madness, Monsters and Mayhem." Motion to approve emeritus request passed.

1614 Emeritus Request: John Vallentine [timestamp 00:43:51] MOTION: Bowler/ Makarios (24 yay, 0 nay, 0 abstentions)

Senator Harlow commented on Dr. Vallentine's time as the Director of the School of Music. Faculty Chair Dobosh commented on her experience working with Dr. Vallentine and that as an administrator, he was supportive of faculty. Motion to approve emeritus request passed.

New Business: None stated **Adjournment** by 5:00 PM

MOTION (Bass / Harlow)

Submitted by Alexa Clements, Vice Chair, University Faculty Senate

Zoom chat is appended:

00:24:53 Melissa Dobosh: https://studentlife.uni.edu/new-locations-campus