Three possible models for Senate representation

(Proposed by the Faculty Senate Membership Working Group (Spring-Fall 2020)

1) Continue to use the current formula (see <u>Senate Bylaws</u>):

2. MEMBERSHIP. The University Faculty Senate shall be composed of members elected by and from the voting faculty from each undergraduate college (including academic units which function as a college although otherwise designated), and elected by and from the Library Faculty.

2.1 Representation. The number of senators to be elected by the members of each undergraduate college and the Library will be determined by the following formula: one senator per thirty voting faculty members rounded to the nearest multiple of thirty, with a minimum of at least one senator from each college. When the number of voting faculty from a college falls exactly between two multiples of thirty, Senate representation will be based on the larger multiple.

- 2) Shift to a standard allocation of senators per college. For example, each college would elect and send four senators to the UNI Faculty Senate. (Possibly include a requirement that at least one senator from each college be the College Senate Chair or designee from the College Senate.)
- 3) Shift to a departmental representation model where each department elects or appoints a faculty member to serve on the UNI Faculty Senate. (Currently there are 33 departments plus the library, for a total of 34 Senators.)