## **University Faculty Senate Bylaws Section 2**

**2. MEMBERSHIP.** The University Faculty Senate shall be composed of members elected by and from the voting faculty from each academic department including the Library Faculty.

**2.1 Delegates**. Each academic department shall be provided an opportunity to elect a voting faculty member of their department to serve as a senator.

**2.2 Review of Faculty Roster.** Only members of the voting faculty listed in the fall edition of the Official Faculty Roster will be eligible for election to serve as a senator.

**2.3 Terms.** Terms shall normally be for three years, with terms of one-third of elected senators to expire each year. Terms begin on May 15.

2.4 Limitation on terms. A senator shall serve no more than two consecutive full terms.

**2.5 Alternates.** Senators shall appoint alternates from their elective constituencies and shall notify the secretary of the Senate of the names of such alternates. Alternates normally serve during the term of the senator and exercise the full duties and responsibilities of a senator during those meetings that they substitute for a senator.

**2.6 Vacancies.** In case the absence or the incapacity of a senator should extend beyond a complete semester, or if, in the Senate's judgment, it is likely that it will so extend, the Senate Nominations Committee may declare the office vacant and provide an opportunity for the academic department to replace the senator.

**2.7 Member ex officio.** The chairperson of the faculty shall be an ex officio member of the Senate, without vote, but with the privileges of motion, second, and debate. If a senator is elected chairperson of the faculty, he/she must resign as senator.